Layers of the Earth January-09-17 1:26 PM The Earth is over ≈ 1200 km thick and has 4 distinct layers. (i.) Crust -outer solid nock layer ex. land and oceans 2. Mantle -thickest layer → Upper mantle a). Lithosphere > Part of the crust and upper portion of the mantle b) Athenosphere > Molten layer → lower mantle - solid rock - mositly inon and magnesium 3. Outer Core - composed of liquid inon & Nickel 4. Inner core - solid iron and nickel